build a website for free


Exeter Ethiopia Link is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO), UK Charity Number: 1154085.

It is run by a group of Trustees and a Committee..


Richard Benn

 Retired finance director of small/medium company, with 40 years experience of all aspects of business management.
Treasurer of Exeter-Ethiopia Link since 2008.

Mark Howells

Bsc(Hons) Engineering, Cert. Ed (FE), MSc Development Management. Senior Test Technician, Racal Radio 1989-1998. Lecturer in Electronic Engineering, Exeter College 1999-2009. Senior People & Learning Manager, Red Cross since 2010. Exeter-Ethiopia Link (EEL) Committee member since 1998, including periods as Membership Secretary, Treasurer and Chairman. Visited EEL projects for monitoring and evaluation In 2006 and 2011. 

Valerie Huggins

BA(Open) PGCE Early Years; MEd Exeter; EdD Plymouth. I am a Lecturer in Early Childhood Studies at Plymouth University, after many years as an Early Years teacher and consultant. I became interested in education in Ethiopia during a year as a VSO volunteer training teacher educators in Addis Ababa. I got involved with the work of EEL on my return and have visited Nekemte every year since 2011. I am particularly interested in supporting the development of O grade educational provision.

Emma Sarton

Freelance Education Consultant. I have worked in Education for over 15years, initially as an English Language trainer, then as a secondary teacher and then a teacher trainer. Currently I train teachers in the UK and abroad, conduct research on educational issues that impact on teaching and learning and I also monitor and evaluate education programmes in developing countries. In 2007 I went to Ethiopia with VSO and worked there for 3 years, based in Nekemte. I regularly travel back to Ethiopia and have been a member of EEL since 2012. I have a BA Economics/Geography (Portsmouth), MA Development Studies (Leeds), MEd Coaching and PGCE (Newcastle) and an MA Education Economics (IoE).

Rupa Chilvers

I have worked within health and care for over 20 years with a focus on implementing evidence and research evidence for high quality and safe care. In most of my projects, I have worked across academia, clinical/healthcare settings with clinicians/practitioners as well as at national level. I have worked mainly in the UK, but also have experience working in low resource settings including Ethiopia on workforce development and health systems strengthening. I have a Ph.D in health policy and planning (LSHTM), an MSc in Psychological Research Methods (Exeter), a BSc in Psychology (Bangor) and am an RSA Fellow.

Kirsten Pullen

BSc (hons) Applied Biology (Greenwich University), MSc Ecology (Bangor University), PhD Animal Behaviour (Exeter University). Having worked in animal behaviour and conservation for many years, I am now increasingly focused on dimensions of social development and the crossover between social development and environmental conservation. I have been a supporter of the Exeter Ethiopia Link for a number of years and took the opportunity to visit Nekemte and see first-hand the Link’s work with schools and young people from a range of backgrounds. I have worked within the charity sector for many years and have a range of experience in both directing and acting as a trustee of a charity.

Abi Williams

Abi is a qualified and experienced programme manager who heads up a law firm's in-house Project Management Unit. She has over 15 years' experience working across a range of sectors including European policy, regional economic development, higher education and legal services. Her experience includes:
* Delivery of a range of business change, information and knowledge management programmes and projects including client management systems, document management systems, websites and intranets.
* Various roles across the public sector advising on investment appraisal and value for money (VFM) assessments, managing strategic risk and establishing performance management frameworks.
* Management of UK and European evaluation and research programmes across skills, business and regeneration projects.
* Various operational roles that span programme management, information, knowledge, marketing and strategy disciplines.
She has a BA in International Relations and Italian, an MA in Knowledge and Information Management and a PG Dip in Information System Analysis and Design.


The Main Committee 2017/18 is made up as follows:

General Secretary: Mark Howells.

Minutes Secretary: David Evans.

Treasurery Team: Dick Benn (Treasurer), George Dexter, Von Mathieson.

Membership Secretary: Gentian Dyer.

Fundraising Team: Ella Huffman, Annie Bainbridge, Gentian Dyer.

Social Media and Publicity Team: Mark Hodgson, Gillian Dale, Annie Bainbridge.

Website Manager: David Scarbrough.

Current Project Leaders

Inclusive Education Project (IEP) funded by DFID. Leaders: Mark Smith & Ella Huffman.

School Libraries and Literacy Project (SLLP) funded by Comic Relief. Leader: Emma Sarton.

Early Years Project (in conjunction with Plymouth University). Leader: Valerie Huggins.

School to School Linking. Leader: Penny Pullen, supported by Sue Rainger and Cathy Kiddie.

Collective Sponsorship Project. Leader: Anthea Duquemin

Water and Environment Projects. Leader: John Collier. 

Health and Welfare Projects: Alex Taylor

General Committee Member: Cynthia Palmer.

To contact any committee member, please use the contact message facility on the Contact Us page of this website